We are grateful for funding from the National Science Foundation to design, build and commission an EDI at the Mt. Palomar Observatory 200 inch telescope.


This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 0906064. Any opinions, findings and conclusions or recomendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation (NSF).


Key early work was funded by the Laboratory Directed Research and Development program at LLNL. Thanks to Ed Moses, Charles Alcock, John Holzrichter, Rokaya Al-Ayat, Andy Hazi, Karl van Bibber, Richard Fortner, Bill Goldstein, and Neil Holmes for strategic help in arranging funding for this exploratory work.

Other funding from CalSpace/Lockheed, and NASA.


In part, this work was performed under the auspices of the U.S. Department of Energy by the University of California, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory under contract No. W-7405-Eng-48.


Thanks to Director Bob Lin and the Space Sciences Laboratory, University of California. Thanks to Joe Miller, the Lick Observatory and staff for the use of their facility. Thanks to Gibor Basri for M-star spectra and a Bromine cell. Reference solar spectra were provided by Kitt Peak/NOAO.


Many others have contributed to the project in various ways over the years:

David Buckley
Kem Cook
Jerry Edelstein
Tim Erskine
Michael Feuerstein
Jian Ge
James Graham
Daniel Harbeck
Terry Herter
Tom Kaye
James Lloyd
Bruce Macintosh
Mario Marckwordt
Tony Misch
Doug Reisner
Mike Rushford
Shauna Sallmen
Dick Treffers
John Vallerga
Ken Visbeck
Barry Welsh
Ed Wishnow
Ron Wurtz site maintained by
David Erskine

Back to EDI home